Let the little children come!

“Then they brought little children to Him, that He might touch them; but the disciples rebuked those who brought them. But when Jesus saw it, He was greatly displeased and said to them, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God.” Mark 10:13, 14

More and more in recent years, this verse is beginning to hold more meaning for me. I do not naturally like children, especially young kids. When I was younger, I used to find them irritating and a nuisance. However, over the years, the Lord has been doing a work in my heart with regard to children. In my first job as a teacher, He began to mould me and give me a shepherd’s heart to love, guide and protect my students. After my teaching stint, though I had a heart for youths (I was teaching in a secondary school), I was still not particularly fond of younger children. I could never understand why Jesus said ‘Let the little children come to Me’ and he was even displeased with His disciples for forbidding the children to come. On the other hand, I could understand why the disciples forbade the children to come – children are so noisy and active – they are disruptive and would wreck havoc! The Lord so many times had to use this passage to gently rebuke me for my attitude towards young kids. And every time, it blew my mind when He would whisper to me how much He loves children.

It was only until I had Daniel that I begin to appreciate little kids so much more. As I watched him grow and am part of the process of nurturing him, it began to open up my perspective of kids. In the midst of loving my own son Daniel, the Lord enlarged my heart to love other kids as well. As I went for children’s activities, attended Sunday school etc with him, I began to fall more and more in love with children. Just the other day, I was picking Daniel up from his childcare and I heard the children singing a song. The chorus of their voices seemed to me the sweetest sound I had ever heard and I just melted.

I feel that I am finally beginning to understand a little of the Lord’s heart when He said those words “Let the little children come”.

Leave a Reply

