Papa’s birthday cake – Matcha cake improved!

For my dad’s birthday, I decided to give this matcha recipe from allrecipes one more try. I decided to do the matcha cake again for the following reasons.

  1. I still had green tea powder left
  2. We were going to a Japanese restaurant (Rakuzen@Tampines) for his birthday dinner and a matcha cake would be in line with the cuisine
  3. I wasn’t totally satisfied with the one I did for Nami’s birthday. I felt that the green tea flavour was not strong enough and it was much too sweet for my liking. So this time, I drastically reduced the sugar and increased the amount of green tea powder.

The result: Yumz!!  I enjoyed the cake a lot, which I was surprised, cos I seldom enjoy cake so much. I have more of a savoury rather than sweet tooth. I also like eating it as a loaf cake without any icing.

Here is the revised recipe which is certainly a keeper and one which I will use again! The method remains the same.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cake flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6 teaspoons green tea powder (up from the original 4)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar (down from original 1 1/4 cup)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup plain yoghurt

For the icing, I also adjusted the amounts slightly as I did not need so much since I would not be doing a layered cake.  I also wanted it less sweet with a stronger green tea flavour.

  • 1 teaspoon vanila extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2-3 teaspoon green tea powder
  • 1 table spoon butter
  • 2 ounce cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon milk
rakuzen1

Daniel always joins the cake cutting and candle blowing even when it is not his birthday!

rakuzen2

Zixuan (Pris’ bf) also shares the same birthday as my dad!

rakuzen3

Rare big family shot!

Leave a Reply

